Local Emergency Planning Committee


The Local Emergency Planning Committee has several purposes:

  • Provide a forum wherein representatives of local government, community leaders, emergency response agencies, long-term response agencies, reporting and planning facilities, the media, and other concerned parties may cooperatively examine and discuss the political, financial, environmental, and personal safety issues of emergency planning activities
  • Conduct fact-finding, planning, exercising, evaluating, and coordinating activities for the development of a comprehensive area-wide response system to hazardous materials emergencies
  • Identify local response needs and resources
  • Serve as the primary information source for residents of Bayfield County regarding emergency response activities, especially hazardous materials information and activities
  • Fulfill requirements set out in the Emergency Community and Right to Know Act (EPCRA), Wisconsin State Statutes 166.20 and 166.21, and administrative rules promulgated by Wisconsin Emergency Management
  • Establish liaison, maintain communication and exchange information with other LEPCs in the northwest area
  • Advise the Bayfield County Board and local governmental agencies of LEPC activities


Membership of the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) is by County Board appointment with approval by Wisconsin Emergency Management. Membership categories are defined by the federal Emergency Community and Right to Know Act. Bayfield County LEPC members are as follows:

  • Charly Ray, Bayfield County Board
  • Robert P. Miller, Vice Chair, Representing Fire Departments
  • Jan Victorson, Information Coordinator, Representing Emergency Management
  • Dan Dalaet, Representing the U.S. Coast Guard
  • Claire Duquette, Representing the Daily Press
  • Paul Susienka, Sheriff, Representing Sheriff's Department
  • George A. Koval, Representing Towns
  • Sara Wartman, Representing Public Health
  • Dick Reese, Representing Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa
  • Gary Victorson, Representing EMS (Emergency Medical Services)
  • Jim Whyte, Representing MMC and Coroner's Department
  • Tim Willoughby, Representing Amateur Radio
  • Rick Zenz, Representing Local Police